Building A Space for Our Success

abff
Loretta Devine, Keke, Palmer, and Kerry Washington onstage during the 2016 ABFF Awards.

A few nights ago, I watched the American Black Film Festival Awards on BET. This award show was presented by ABFF in conjunction with BET as a way to celebrate and recognize the diversity and talent within the realms of Black Hollywood. I’m not going to get into the whole “Oscar’s So White” controversy, but as a writer, I’m a major fan of the ABFF and wanted to acknowledge them as well as BET for creating their own lane. When it comes to following our dreams, this is something that many of us want to do, but for many reasons fail to do it.

but you don't blog about-2

When something doesn’t fit into a specific category or space, it is often concluded that this thing whether it be our physical appearance, an opinion , or a dream needs to be modified. There’s this connotation attached to being unique that fosters conformity and change in order to be accepted and successful.  As a result, we feel like we need to change our ideas- we feel like we need to change our dreams.

When we live in a world where ordinary is the expectation and our dream is out of the ordinary, how do we succeed?

When I first started my blog, I knew it was very unconventional, and unique. A lot of the things I’ve done and do are “typical” for bloggers, but a lot of my dreams and goals for my blog are very unconventional. There are times where this has left me feeling like there isn’t a place for my blog, and there isn’t a place for my dreams to come true. However, because I’m so passionate about my dreams, and believe in myself 100%, I decided I wasn’t going to change my dreams but instead create a space for them to come true.

CREATE

If we have a vision, idea, or a dream we are passionate about that doesn’t fit into a space that’s already created within the arenas we’re trying to succeed in, we have to create our own space-we have to create our own success!  Everything that we see as normal, or that we have accepted in life didn’t necessarily start off that way. Some of these things started as someone’s unconventional, crazy, illogical, ideas and dreams! People built their own spaces for their success, and that’s just what we have to do sometimes. If we’re passionate about something, we don’t just stop believing in it or let it die, because society doesn’t believe in it or doesn’t have a space for it. No one should ever tell us to do that!

This week, I challenge us  to create our own space for success if we need it.  No dream should go unfollowed and no passion should die due to the lack of a space to succeed. There’s nothing wrong with doing it ourselves- if we didn’t do it we’d be selling ourselves short.

Remember, you don’t have to average, you can be extraordinary. You don’t have to be a rock, you can be a diamond!

neon

 

4 thoughts on “Building A Space for Our Success

  1. I love this article! It can be hard as a blogger, especially a new blogger, to feel comfortable in a domain where the rules feel established. It is important for us to be able to blog about what we love regardless of what the pros say. Good read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

