The Greatest Motivational Speech You Will Ever Read

It’s 7:45 pm. I’ve just got done eating and taking a long, hot shower-I’m tired. I’ve been chasing elementary students all day, my nose is running and I have cramps. In 24 days, I have a personal project due that could possibly make my dreams a reality. I know I should be working on it right now, but I’m wrapped up on my couch with an electric blanket contemplating whether or not I should go to bed.

B9320477645Z.1_20160113132402_000_GL6D58UIG.1-0

Every day, I compete with life and its constant stressors and impediments and for the average person, that’s a competitor we’re not trying to square up with. Whether it be a 30 page paper, a shitty job, societal pressures and expectations, bills, homelessness, fatigue, illness, procrastination,or whatever way it chooses to manifest itself that day, life is just so prominent and overbearing to the point where we can’t even begin to think about our dreams and the things we truly desire. We’re too busy trying to deal with the situations that life throws at us on a daily basis.  How can we focus on losing weight, or starting a business, or whatever our dream may be when we’re tired, stressed, being abused, hate our job,  and just want to do nothing as a result of every day life?  How do we even begin trying to add anything else to that over-filled plate? How do we add pursuing a dream to all of that?

The starting line.

So many of us start off with a dream as a child and as we continue to grow up and experience life, that dream fades away. That dream becomes obsolete to us because life just unloads everything it has and our focus shifts from dreams to trying to manage the daily stresses of life. We look at people who are successfully doing what we desire to do or have what we desire to have,  and we think, “I have that same dream. That’s what I want in life, and that’s what I desire to do and to become. How come they have it and I don’t?”  Then we come up with all the excuses and reasons in the world for why we don’t:

I grew up poor.     I didn’t go to college.

I came from a single family home.    I don’t have a good paying job.

I gotta take care of my kids.      I’m tired.      I’m unmotivated.     I have too much on my plate as it is.

And the list goes on…

We have to fight.

Life is not going to stop, get easier, or not do its thing because we have a dream that we’re trying to pursue. Whether we know it or not, we are constantly shown that life isn’t the race we are running, but the competitor we are running against, and every day there is a challenge to get to the finish line. For some us the finish line is ultimate happiness, fame and fortune, and going to heaven. For others it’s as simple as please let me make it to Friday, let me figure out how to pay this bill this month, let me figure out how to just breathe. We’re always running this race with life and we’re always going to. However,  it’s those of who recognize that we’re running this race and actually gear up to compete who make it. It’s those of us who choose to fight the battle that make it. Those of us who choose to challenge the obstacles that life throws at us that succeed. It’s those of us who compete with life.Our dream dies because we aren’t up for the challenge. Being tired, stressed, sick, unmotivated, or whatever it is that life serves us at that stops us from following our dreams can be defeated.

DREAMS= DESIRE= A DECISION OF DOING.

This formula that I ever so kindly created for you, is the key to success. We got the dream, we got the desire- most of us have that or have had that at one time or another. It’s that second half, that decision of doing that we struggle with, and that’s what separates the winners from the losers. That’s what separates the ones who make it from the ones who miss it. That’s what separates the dreamers from the do-ers.

Life is the biggest competitor that ANY of us will ever have to face.  From abuse, to poverty, to natural disaster, to addiction, to temptation,  life is a strong competitor who can and will throw anything at us to keep us from our dreams – it’s just the nature of the beast. However, we have to make that conscious decision to do. We have to throw it right back at life. When life is telling you you’re tired, stay up! When life is giving you stress, find peace! When life is telling you you’re trapped, find your way out. Life is always gonna be life, no matter how much money you have, or how successful you are- you don’t have any control over it and what it throws at you. However, you do have control over you and what you DECIDE TO DO. There’s a dream that lives in you and a desire that lives in you. Those are things that life can easily tamper with. However, that decision to do, and to  become, and to  have, and to achieve. That’s something that no one can ever take away- not even life itself.

neon

20160327_142542

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Greatest Motivational Speech You Will Ever Read

  1. This is so on point for me at this point in my life. Oftentimes, life will drain us until we take a stand in knowing how we are to be strategic in our overcoming. Life is just that life. Either we live it with all we are purposed with or we succumb to the many twists, turns, troubles and trials that we encounter.

    Glory to God for your transparency and purpose in him.

    God Bless you!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

